Youth are critical and powerful voices in the fight against tobacco. For over 25 years in the United States, our Youth Advocates of the Year Awards have honored outstanding youth advocates, emerging leaders and public health champions who are leading the way to the first tobacco-free generation. Honorees have encouraged their peers to be tobacco-free, taken on the tobacco industry and its deceptive marketing, advocated for tobacco prevention policies at the local, state and/or federal level, and urged their elected leaders to take action. Since 1996, we have honored 215 individuals and 26 youth groups.

In 2022, our global team launched a program to recruit, train and elevate emerging leaders in the fight against tobacco. The Global Young Ambassadors (GYA) program has been bringing together young adults through a series of global and regional summits all around the world – from South Africa to Southeast Asia, Europe and very soon, South America. We’re excited to recognize the work of these emerging leaders through a new award – Global Young Ambassador of the Year.

Applications are now closed.


Barrie Fiske National Youth Advocate of the Year Award

Our Barrie Fiske National Youth Advocate of the Year Award goes to our overall top-scoring U.S. high school junior or senior who has demonstrated a significant commitment to tobacco prevention in their state and community. Honoree receives a scholarship prize of $10,000.

Group Youth Advocates of the Year Award

The U.S. Group Youth Advocates of the Year award recognizes a U.S. based youth tobacco prevention coalition (middle/high school age students in grades 7-12) whose efforts have made a significant impact on their community or state. The group receives a $2,500 grant to support their continued community engagement work.

New: Global Young Ambassador of the Year Award

New this year, we will recognize a young adult (18-30 years old) from a low- or middle-income country currently engaged with our global young ambassador network. Eligible applicants must be affiliated with a current Tobacco-Free Kids funded grantee and have attended one of our young ambassadors’ summits. The recipient will have demonstrated excellence in tobacco prevention in areas such as policy change, peer mobilization, media advocacy and community activism. Applications by invitation only. Honoree will receive $5,000.


Together, we can achieve the first tobacco-free generation! Sign up below to receive Take Down Tobacco Updates.